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IDAHO REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 
Bureau of Occupational Licenses 

700 West State Street, P.O. Box 83720 
Boise, ID 83720-0063 

 
APPLICATION FOR REGISTERED TRAINEE 

 
INSTRUCTIONS: Please complete this form by providing all of the requested information.  Read the application carefully. The 
application MUST include all requested information and the required fees (application fee of $250.00 & registration fee of $50.00 
written out to IBOL).   All returned checks are subject to a $20.00 fee. Your signature, and that of your supervisor, must be 
notarized. Submit the completed application and fee to the address noted above. The application fee is not refundable once the 
Bureau has accepted the application for filing.  Each licensee who provides you with supervision during your trainee period 
must complete a Supervising Appraiser Affidavit. The affidavit page may be copied as necessary if you have more than one 
supervisor. Attach the completed copies to this page. 
 

I hereby make application for Real Estate Appraiser Trainee registration under Chapter 41, Title 54, Idaho Code, also known as the 
Idaho Real Estate Appraisers Act. 
 
 

1. Full Name (Mr., Mrs., or Ms.) ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
2. Mailing Address________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                      Street/PO Box                         City                    State            Zip 
 
3. Date of Birth ______________   Place of Birth_________________________   Social Security #______________ 
  MM-DD -YYYY 
 
4. Business Name ________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
5. Business Address ______________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                      Street/PO Box                         City  State Zip 
 
6.    Business phone _______________  Other Phone_________________   E-mail ____________________________ 
          (The above phone number is public record)    (The above number & e-mail are not public record)       
 
7.  Have you ever held an appraiser license, certification, or registration in any other state?                 ( ) Yes  ( ) No      
 
If Yes, please list the other state(s) and license number(s)_________________________________________________ 
         
8.   Have you ever had a license or other registration revoked, suspended or otherwise sanctioned? ( ) Yes     ( ) No 
(If Yes, a copy of the charges and the final order must be received before your application will be processed.) 
 
9.    Have you ever been convicted of any State or Federal felony?   ( ) Yes     ( ) No  
(If Yes, a detailed statement, a summary of the charges, the final order, any probation or parole documentation, and any other relevant 
information must be received before your application will be processed.) 
 
10.   Have you completed at least 75 classroom hours of real estate appraisal courses? ( ) Yes     ( ) No 
The list of approved subjects is provided in Rule 275. USPAP training is required. Proof of attendance documentation must be 
submitted with this application. 
 
PHOTOGRAPH: All applicants must attach an original passport photograph taken within the 12 months immediately preceding 
this application. 
 HEIGHT  _________ 
  
 WEIGHT  _________ 
 ATTACH PHOTO HERE 
 EYE COLOR _________ 
 
 HAIR COLOR  _________ 
 

 
 
 

(continued) 
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APPLICATION FOR REGISTERED TRAINEE 
(continued) 

 
AFFIDAVIT 

 
I hereby certify under penalty of perjury that the responses provided on and attached to this application are true and accurate to the 
best of my knowledge and belief, and that I may be required to provide additional information.  I further certify that I am of good 
moral character and that I have reviewed and will comply with USPAP and the Idaho Laws and Rules governing the practice of 
Real Estate Appraisal and Real Estate Appraiser Trainees. I hereby authorize and direct any person, agency, firm, or other entity to 
release, upon the request of the Bureau of Occupational Licenses or it’s authorized representative, any information, 
communication, report, record, statement, recommendation, or disclosure that may have bearing on my eligibility for or 
maintenance of the license for which I am applying.  I understand that by signing this form I am authorizing the release of 
information about me that may otherwise be protected or confidential, and that I may be required to submit additional information 
in order for my application to be considered by the Board.  
 
 

 ___________________________________________ 
 Signature of Applicant 
 
 
State of ______________, County of _________________, ss. 
Subscribed and sworn before me this ______ day of _______________________, 20 _____. 
            
 
 ___________________________________________ 
                          (seal) Notary Public Official Signature 
 My Commission Expires_______________________ 
 
 

 
SUPERVISING APPRAISER INFORMATION AND AFFIDAVIT 

 
Supervisor’s Business Name _____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Supervisor’s Business Address ___________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                       Street/PO Box                         City  State Zip 
 
Business phone _______________ Fax _______________ E-mail _________________________________ 
(The above phone number is public record)    (The above fax number & e-mail is not public record) 
 
I hereby certify under penalty of perjury that I hold an Idaho Certified Real Estate Appraiser license in good standing and that I 
have not been the subject of discipline by the Idaho Real Estate Appraiser Board within the previous four (4) years.  I further 
certify that I am not supervising more than three (3) appraiser trainees, including the applicant. Additionally, I have completed an 
approved four (4) hour course regarding the role of the supervising appraiser. (Proof of attendance must be submitted with this 
application). 
I further certify that I have reviewed and will comply with USPAP and the Idaho Laws and Rules governing the practice of Real 
Estate Appraisal and Real Estate Appraiser Trainees. I understand the responsibilities and requirements for the training and direct 
supervision of the applicant. 
 
____________________________________________ ____________________________________________       
Print Supervisor’s Name & License Number Signature of Supervising Appraiser  
 
State of ______________, County of _________________, ss. 
Subscribed and sworn before me this ______ day of _______________________, 20 _____. 
            
 
 ___________________________________________ 
                          (seal) Notary Public Official Signature 
 My Commission Expires_______________________ 
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IDAHO REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 
STATE JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION 

(page 1 of 3) 
 
CAREFULLY READ EACH NUMBERED STATEMENT.  BELOW EACH STATEMENT CHOOSE 
THE WORD OR PHRASE THAT MOST CORRECTLY COMPLETES THE MEANING OF THE 
STATEMENT.  FOR EACH STATEMENT, SHADE IN BETWEEN THE BRACKETS IN FRONT 
OF THE WORD OR PHRASE YOU CHOOSE.   
 
 

1. An Idaho Licensed Residential Appraiser may appraise: 
 a.   any residence having a transaction value less than $1,500,000. 
 b.   any residential real property consisting of 1 to 6 residential units. 
 c.   any single unit residence regardless of cost or complexity. 
 d.   any single family residential real property having a transaction value less than $250,000. 

 
 

2. A Broker’s Price Opinion is defined in part as: 
 a.  a conclusion of a property’s value that is prepared by an associate real estate broker. 
 b.  a written analysis of real property value that is prepared by a real estate broker. 
 c.  a written price opinion of the estimated price for a property that is prepared by a licensed real 

estate broker. 
 d.  the estimated written market value of a residential property prepared by a real estate broker or 

an associate real estate broker. 
 
 

3. The purpose of the Idaho Real Estate Appraisal Law is to: 
 a.  insure that all appraisals are correct and lawful by requiring a license to practice. 
 b.  allow those wishing to perform appraisals the opportunity to be professionally licensed.  
 c.  provide licensure for those persons who regularly perform complex property appraisals. 
 d.  safeguard life, health and property and to promote the public welfare. 

 
 

4. An Appraisal is defined in part as: 
 a.  a written and notarized statement of minimum value which meets U.S. guidelines. 
 b.  a conclusion relating to value of identified real estate. 
 c.  any document which references cost, value, quality, or utility. 
 d.  the act of assuming qualifying conditions relating to the minimum acquisition price of any 

commodity. 
 
 

5. An Idaho Certified Residential Appraiser may appraise: 
 a.   any multi-unit residence having a transaction value less $1,500,000. 
 b.   any 1 to 6 family residence having a transaction value less $1,500,000. 
 c.   any 1 to 4 family residence regardless of cost or complexity. 
 d.   any residential real property having a transaction value less than $1,000,000. 

 
 
 

(continued) 
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IDAHO REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 
STATE JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION 

(page 2 of 3) 
 
 
 

6.  All real estate appraisals completed in Idaho must: 
 a.  be in writing. 
 b.  be in compliance with USPAP. 
 c.  have all three approaches to value applied. 
 d.  be physically inspected by the signing appraiser. 

 
 

7. An Idaho licensed or certified Appraiser must: 
 a.  annually renew their license to practice as an appraiser. 
 b.  obtain and document continuing education as a condition of licensure. 
 c.  pay a reinstatement penalty for licenses renewed after the renewal date. 
 d.  All of the above. 

   
 

8. A Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice update course must be completed: 
 a.  every year. 
 b.  every 2 years 
 c.  every 7 years. 
 d.  only prior to receiving initial licensure or certification. 

 
 

9. An Idaho Certified General Appraiser may appraise: 
 a.  all types of real property in Idaho. 
 b.  only commercial or industrial real property. 
 c.  all types of real property in any state, territory or possession of the United States. 
 d.  only real property having a transaction value more than $10,000,000. 

 
 

10. The Board of Real Estate Appraisers may suspend or revoke a license or certificate for: 
 a.  being negligent or incompetent in communicating an appraisal. 
 b.  accepting an appraisal assignment contingent upon a predetermined value. 
 c.  making any substantial misrepresentation, false promise or fraudulent representation. 
 d.  All of the above. 

 
                           
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(continued) 
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IDAHO REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 
STATE JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION 

(page 3 of 3) 
 

Depreciation Analysis by Extraction Method 
                                                     
                                                     Comp. 1             Comp. 2             Comp. 3 
 
Sale Price:                                   $205,000            $215,000            $217,000 
 
Land Value:                                    48,000                50,000                54,500 
 
Improv. Contributory Value:        157,000              165,000              162,500 
 
Sale Date:                                       Feb-07               Mar-07                Feb-07 
 
Est. Reconstruction Value:          $179,000             $182,500          $184,000 
 Improvements: 
Less Contributory Value:             _______             -165,000           _______ 
 Improvements: 
Accrued Depreciation:                     22,000              _______          _______ 
 
Percent Depreciation:                  ________              _______          11.68% 
 
Effective Age (years):                       9                            8                        9 
 
Est. Depreciation per Year:         ________%             1.20%           _______% 
 
Reconciled Annual Depreciation:  _______% 
 
Subject Property: 
 
Effective Age:  8 years 
 
Subject Land Value:                      $52,000 
 
Est. Cost New, Improvements:    $183,000 
 
Depreciation:                             - $_______   
 
Value from Cost Approach:         $_______  

AFFIDAVIT 
I hereby certify under oath that the responses provided above are my own, based on my personal review of the Idaho Laws and Rules 
governing the practice of real estate appraising. 
 
____________________________________ _________________________________________ 
Print Name Signature 
 
State of ______________, County of _________________, ss. 
 
Subscribed and sworn before me this ______ day of _______________________, 20 _____.     

 
_________________________________________ 

                          (seal)             Notary Public official signature 
 my commission expires_____________________ 
 
Submit all pages of this completed examination with your application. 
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