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IDAHO STATE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY 
Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses 

700 West State Street, PO Box 83720 
Boise, Idaho 83720-0063 

Phone: 208-334-3233, Fax: 208-334-3945 
E-mail: mas@ibol.idaho.gov, Web: www.ibol.idaho.gov 

 
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

 
NOTE:  ON OR AFTER JULY 1, 2013, IT IS UNLAWFUL TO PRACTICE MASSAGE THERAPY 

WITHOUT A VALID STATE LICENSE. 

• All applications must be complete. Incomplete applications will not be reviewed by the Board. 
• The application fees are not refundable and will be applied to the action requested through this application only. Send your 

application and fees to the address listed above with a check or money order made out to IBOL. Applications with credit 
cards and exact cash can be taken in person at the Bureau’s Office. All returned checks are subject to a $20 fee. 

• Qualifying education and training will be based entirely on completeness and accuracy of information in this application. 
Supplemental sheets may be attached if necessary with further details regarding your education and training.  

$50 application fee 
$75 initial license fee 

Total: $125 
 

 
Endorsement Applicants: This method is for those who have been licensed in another state with requirements 
substantially similar to Idaho’s. Those seeking licensure for the first time should fill out the exam application. 
Idaho Code §54-4010.  A person shall be eligible to be licensed as a massage therapist if the person provides the 
following: 

The completed and notarized endorsement application with the appropriate fees attached; 
Proof of being eighteen (18) years of age or older (Please attach a copy of birth certificate, passport, military ID, or 

valid driver’s license.  If the name on your application does not match the proof of age document, please provide 
proof of the name change as well); 

Proof of being licensed or certified and in good standing in another state with substantially equivalent requirements to 
those in Idaho. Certification of licensure must be sent directly from the state where you are licensed, a copy of your 
license will not meet this requirement. (Please also provide a copy of the education and experience requirements 
sections of licensure laws and rules for that state.)  
 
Endorsement applicants from Washington, Florida, Colorado, and Utah must include a transcript for the Board to 
review. Others may also be asked to provide a transcript as part of the application. California applicants do not 
qualify for endorsement and must fill out the application entitled, “Massage Therapist Application Examination.” 
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IDAHO STATE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY 
Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses 

700 West State Street, PO Box 83720 
Boise, Idaho 83720-0063 

Phone: 208-334-3233; Fax: 208-334-3945 
E-mail: mas@ibol.idaho.gov; Web: www.ibol.idaho.gov 

 
ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION 

 
Please complete this form by providing the requested information. Your signature must be notarized and the $125 total fee must be attached.  Submit 
the completed form to the address noted above. All requested information must be provided and all questions must be answered for the application to 
be considered.  
 
I hereby make application for a license to practice as a Massage Therapist under the provisions of Title 54, chapter 40, Idaho Code:                                                   

 
1. Full Name (Mr., Mrs., or Ms.) _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
2. Address of Record ______________________________________________________________________________________ 

(The above address is public record)         Street/PO Box                                                         City                              State             Zip 
 
3.  Mailing Address________________________________________________________________________________________ 

(Will be used as address of record if none provided above)   Street/PO Box                                     City                             State             Zip 
 
4.   Date of Birth ____/____/_______  Place of Birth_____________________________  Social Security No. _____/____/_____ 
  (Proof of age in the form of a copy of birth certificate, passport, military ID, or valid driver’s license must be attached.) 
 
5.   Business phone (____)_____________   Cell (____)_____________  E-mail _______________________________________ 
                                       (This number is public record)    
 
7. Have you been licensed as a Massage Therapist in another state, territory or locality?           ( ) Yes    ( ) No                                                               
    If Yes, please list any other states, territories or localities where you have held a Massage Therapy license in the past 10 

years and indicate whether or not the license is current. Please attach a copy of the Massage licensure law and rule for that 
state. 

    ____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
     (Certification of licensure sent directly from the state(s)/locality where the license is held must be received by the Board from the issuing agency before the 

application can be processed) 
 
8.   Have you ever been denied registration or licensure by any state, district or regulatory body?   ( ) Yes    ( ) No                                                              

(If Yes, please explain what occurred and provide any documents relevant to the denial.)   
 
9.   Have you ever had any license or other authority to practice disciplined or otherwise sanctioned?   ( ) Yes    ( ) No                                                               

(If Yes, a copy of the charges and the final order must be attached and received by the Board before your application will be processed.)    
 
10.  Have you ever had a conviction, finding of guilt, withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for a felony or crime involving 

moral turpitude, or any crime under any municipal, state, or federal narcotic or controlled substance law, or been subject 
to discipline in another state, territory or country (see Idaho Code §54-4013(3) and Rule 306)?             ( ) Yes    ( ) No                                                               

        (If Yes, a detailed statement, a summary of the charges, the final order, any probation or parole documentation, and any other relevant 
information must be attached and received by the Board before your application will be processed.)  

 
AFFIDAVIT 

Upon oath I certify each of the following:  (1) the responses and information provided in this application and in the attached 
addendum(s) and documentation are true and correct to the best of my knowledge;  (2) I am the applicant named in and who 
has signed this application; (3) I am a United States citizen or a legal permanent resident or I am otherwise lawfully present in 
the United States; (4) I have read and will conform to the Laws and Rules governing the profession for which I am seeking a 
license or authority to practice; (5) I acknowledge and agree the use of intentional misrepresentation or fraud in this 
application or violation of any Laws or Rules governing the profession for which I am seeking a license or authority to practice 
shall constitute cause sufficient for denial, suspension, cancellation or revocation of any license or authority applied for or 
granted to me; (6) I will provide additional or corrected information if material changes occur which would cause responses or 
information provided in or with this application to be inaccurate or incomplete; (7) I authorize and direct any person, agency, 
firm, or other entity to release, upon the request of the Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses or its authorized 
representative, any information, communication, report, record, statement, disclosure, or recommendation that may have 
bearing on my eligibility for or maintenance of the license or authority for which I am applying and hereby release and 
exonerate any of them from any liability of any kind resulting from the release or collection thereof; and (8) I authorize the  
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Bureau of Occupational Licenses to release to any other regulatory entity in any jurisdiction any information requested about 
me that may otherwise be protected or confidential that may have bearing on my eligibility for or maintenance of any license 
or authority issued or applied for in this or any jurisdiction and hereby release and exonerate them from any liability of any 
kind resulting from the release thereof.    
 _________________________________________ 
 Signature of applicant 
 
 
This box is for notary use only. All applications must be signed and notarized to be complete. 
 
State of ______________, County of _________________________, ss. 
Subscribed and sworn before me this ______ day of _______________________, 20 _____. 
 
  (seal)      
        
      
 __________________________________________ 
 Notary Public official signature 
 My commission expires_______________________ 
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