IDAHO REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 


Licensure Application Process

Before you appraise real estate – get licensed!  Idaho law requires the licensure of all persons who practice or offer to practice as a real estate appraiser in the State of Idaho.  Idaho law specifies that it shall be unlawful for any person in this state to assume or use the title "state licensed" or "state certified real estate appraiser" or any title, designation or abbreviation likely to create the impression of licensure by the state of Idaho for any real estate appraisal, unless the person has first been licensed by the real estate appraiser board. 

It is unlawful for any person to appraise, practice appraisal, assume to act as, or hold themselves out to the public as an appraiser, or carry on the calling of an appraiser within the state, or to perform an appraisal of real estate located in this state unless the person has first been licensed by the board. Any person who acts as or holds himself out to be a real estate appraiser without first obtaining a license may be punished by a fine, not to exceed $1,000, or by imprisonment in the county jail for a term not to exceed 1 year, or by both such fine and imprisonment in the discretion of the court.  The Board refers such complaints to county prosecutors.  The prosecuting attorney of each county in the state is responsible to prosecute all violations of the licensure provisions in their respective counties in which the violations occur.

Licensure is available through both examination and reciprocity. 

There are specific education & experience requirements for those seeking licensure by examination. Those requirements are outlined in Board Rules. 

Application is a multiple-stage process.

  1. Submit a complete application to board. 
  2. Board office will review the application and notify you of any items that are incomplete. 
  3. You will be sent a letter requesting 2 work samples selected from your experience log.
  4. Once your work samples are received, the board will review the application and work samples at their next scheduled board meeting.  PLEASE NOTE THAT COMPLETED APPLICATION INCLUDING ALL WORK SAMPLES MUST BE RECEIVED BY THE BOARD OFFICE AT LEAST 30 DAYS PRIOR TO A SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.   
  5. If all information is NOT approved by board, you will be sent a letter requesting additional information or clarification. Work sample changes or additional information requested by the board must be re-submitted for review at next scheduled board meeting.  You will not receive approval to take the exam until your application is complete and approved by the board.
  6. Once your application is approved by board, you will be sent a letter with information regarding the exam.
  7. The Exam must be taken and passed. The exam dates, locations, and times are determined by Pearson VUE.
  8. You must submit the original exam completion certificate from Pearson VUE.
  9. Your license will be issued and mailed to you.

Idaho law and rule also provide for the issuance of a Temporary Practice permit for those currently licensed in another state.

Licensure Requirements

Pre-licensure courses must be pre-approved by the board. The courses must be at least 15 hours in length, and include an exam.

ONLY appraiser experience obtained as a Registered Trainee or licensed appraiser shall be credited towards licensure. Only experience gained during the five years immediately preceding application will be considered.

You will find the Experience Log, the Applicant Appraisal Review Checklist, the Application for licensure by Reciprocity or Examination, and the Application for a Temporary Permit on the Forms link.  You may also request any application by writing:

Real Estate Appraiser Board
Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 West State Street, PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0063