IDAHO BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 


Licensure Application Process


Idaho law requires the licensure of all persons who practice or offer to practice cosmetology, nail technology, haircutting, esthetics, or electrology in the State of Idaho.

In order to obtain a license, an applicant must:

  • document completion of the tenth grade and;
  • be at least sixteen and one-half years of age and;
  • document completion of 2000 hours of training for cosmetology, or 400 hours for nail technology, or 600 hours for esthetics, or 800 hours for electrology and;
  • have graduated from an approved school and;
  • pass the NIC theory and practical examination;

The holder of a current license in another state may also be eligible for licensure. Licensure may be gained through Endorsement if an applicant either:

  • holds a current license from another state whose standards are not less than Idaho standards, or
  • holds a current license from another state and has work experience under licensure in three of the last five years.

If you do not meet the equal standards or experience requirement, additional training and examination will be required. An applicant must show proof of training equivalent to the Idaho requirements and pass the examination(s).  Applicants who do not meet the equivalent training requirement, must graduate from a licensed Idaho school of cosmetology. 

Licenses for Cosmetology Instructors and Electrology Instructors are also available.

Only complete applications will be considered by the Board.

All applicants must complete and submit an application with the required documentation and appropriate fees.

You may download Application Forms here or request an application by writing:


Idaho Board of Cosmetology
Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 West State Street, PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0063

Please provide your name, and mailing address or e-mail address with your request.